Invite new people to your Geckoboard account

There are two types of members who can be added to your Geckoboard account: Admin and View only.

Admins can edit or delete all dashboards within the account, as well as access all connected data sources. Adding admins is recommended if you're sharing or transfering responsibilities for your dashboards.

View only members can view all dashboard within the account, but they are unable to edit or delete them. They cannot create dashboards of their own, nor can they invite or manage people within the account. If you'd prefer new invites to only view specific dashboards, use the invite feature on your dashboards.

  Admin View only
Add, edit and delete dashboards
Manage member access to dashboards
Invite new members
Delete members
Access connected data sources

All invited members contribute towards the quota available on your Geckoboard pricing plan.

Only people with individual logins for Geckoboard are considered members. By using sharing links you can enable more people to see your dashboards without logging into Geckoboard, and they won't be counted towards your member quota.

How to invite admins and view only members to your account

To invite new people to your Geckoboard account, follow these steps:

  1. Click People in the top right area of your screen.people link along the masthead
  2. In the pop-up modal that appears, input the email address of the person you want to grant access to and hit Enter. For multiple addresses, separate each email with a comma (,).invite people to use geckoboard
  3. From the access level dropdown select either Admin or View only.access level options for invited geckoboard users
  4. Click Send invite. They'll now receive an invite to create a Geckoboard account.

Promote members to account owners

Once you've invited a new Organization member to your account you can choose promote them to account owner. This can be useful if you need to transfer ownership of your Geckoboard account.

have the highest level of account access and the most privileges. In addition to everything an admin can do, account owners can access the organization settings and billing details. This is useful when you need a particular person to handle billing within the account.

To promote an Organization member to an , follow these steps:

  1. Click on your initials in the top right hand corner.login to your geckoboard account
  2. From the drop-down, select Admin.options from the admin menu
  3. Click the People tab.people tab on admin navigation
  4. Click the more options menu next to the person's access.more options menu
  5. Click Make account owner.

Account ownership can be revoked by another account owner, if needed.

Demote members to limited dashboard access

You can choose to demote Organization members – who can view all dashboards on your account – to having limited dashboard access.

Limited dashboard users can only view the dashboards you add them to. This enables you to keep some dashboards private, restrict access to a dashboard to a small number of people, or keep close control over who has access to specific dashboards at any one time. Limiting someone's access to your dashboards is particularly useful if you only want someone external to your team to view certain dashboards.

To demote an Organization member to a user with limited dashboard access, follow these steps:

  1. Click on your initials in the top right hand corner.login to your geckoboard account
  2. From the drop-down, select Admin.options from the admin menu
  3. Click the People tab.people tab on admin navigation
  4. Click the more options menu next to the invited person's access.more options menu
  5. From the menu click Demote to limited dashboard access.access level options for invited geckoboard users
  6. Scroll down to the list of people with Limited dashboard access.
  7. Click the more options menu next to the selected person's access.
  8. From the menu, click Manage dashboard access.access level options for invited geckoboard users
  9. Use the toggles beside each dashboard to enable this person access to these dashboards.toggle access to individual dashboards
  10. Click Update to finish. Repeat the steps for other members you want grant view-only access to.
Was this article helpful?

Awesome! 👍 Thanks so much for your feedback!

Sorry about that! Start a conversation now.

Ready to create your own dashboard?

Get started for free

Still have questions? Get in touch.