Share your dashboard

The Share feature allows you to generate a link to an individual dashboard and invite people to access the dashboard in view-only mode.

Important note: Share links are hash URLs which makes them unique and impossible to guess. Additionally, we block search engines from accessing share links on Geckoboard. However, if the link is shared on a public-facing site there is a chance it will be indexed. If you have sensitive data, ensure that whoever is using your link understands this.

Generating a link

Generating a link to a dashboard is useful for giving people access to it without them having to log in, embedding the dashboard on a webpage using an iframe, our even help the support team here at Geckoboard diagnosing an issue. 

To generate a link to more than one dashboard see creating a dashboard loop.

Note: By default, a share link will display your dashboard to anybody who clicks the link unless you set up IP restrictions, regenerate or delete the share link.

To generate a link, follow these steps:

  1. When logged in, switch to the dashboard you wish to share.
  2. Click  Share in the top right of the admin interface. 
  3. Click Create share link.
  4. Use the Copy menu to copy it to your clipboard for sharing.

Tip: Because of security limitations in browsers, it’s not possible to generate a share link that will automatically activate full-screen mode. For this, we recommend using our Chrome app with a Chromebit in Kiosk mode.

Generate_link_to_share_dashboard

Tip: If you have multiple dashboards you can quickly see which dashboards are currently being shared by clicking your initials, selecting Admin from the drop-down, and clicking Dashboards.

Revoking access to a link

If you need to make a dashboard private again, use the menu on the right to chose Delete. Anybody using your previous link to access the dashboard will now see a 'Not found' message.

If you want to continue to share the dashboard but need to revoke access to links you've generated previously, click Regenerate to create a new link. Your previous link to that dashboard will become inaccessible.

Delete_shared_dashboard

Inviting view-only users

Inviting people to access in view-only mode enables you to password-protect access to your dashboards. You control which dashboards view-only users can see and Geckoboard control the access to it through log-in.

Invite_view-only_users

Read more about inviting people to your account.

Was this article helpful?
👍

Thank you for your feedback!